Home » Namibia Emerged as the Hockey Champions in the Sultan Nazrin Shah Cup
Africa Namibia News South Africa Sports

Namibia Emerged as the Hockey Champions in the Sultan Nazrin Shah Cup

Namibian senior player Brynn Cleak emerged as the hero of his team, after his goal sealed victory over South Africa on penalties 3-2, in the final of the first edition of the Sultan Nazrin Shah Cup International Indoor Hockey Championship.

The match had to be decided through a penalty shootout, after both teams were tied 2-2 after 40 minutes of the match, at the Indera Mulia Stadium near here.

Down as a non-seeded team, Namibia, which is ranked 13th in the world, started fiercely when it opened the scoring through a field goal completed by Fagan Hansen, in the 10th minute.

Seven minutes later, Trevor Cormack’s attacking streak paid off, when Brynn Cleak put her team two goals ahead with a field goal.

Stunned from two goals down, South Africa redoubled their efforts and managed to close the gap, when Keegan Hezlett converted his side’s third penalty corner in the 26th minute.

South Africa under Justin Rosenberg continued to put pressure on Namibia in the fourth quarter of the match and the goal they were waiting for came in the 32nd minute, through Jethro Eustice.

Namibia had a chance to take the lead in the dying minutes, but Cody Merwe’s shot was denied by South African goalkeeper Phemelo Ramatlotlo.

The match then had to be decided on penalties in favor of Namibia, after Keegan Hezlett missed a penalty kick.

Before that, in the third and fourth place match, New Zealand defeated Australia 6-4.

Meanwhile, the South African women’s hockey team emerged champions of the Tuanku Zara Cup International Indoor Hockey Championship 2nd Edition, after defeating Switzerland 4-3, also through a penalty shoot-out after a 1-1 tie.

The Queen of Perak Tuanku Zara Salim was pleased to present prizes to all the winners in the form of trophies and medals.

The six-day tournament, which started on November 6, was attended by South Africa, Australia, Namibia, Switzerland, New Zealand, Hong Kong and Malaysia. – Named

Source : Sinarharian